CEX Compare
English

Data reportFees

Crypto exchange fees in October 2026: the median spot trade costs $1.00 per $1,000

We compared base-tier trading and withdrawal fees at 20 exchanges, each figure from an official source. This is where the market sits, who undercuts it, and what the gaps are worth in dollars.

Published 2026-09-23 Updated 2026-10-22 Data checked 2026-10-28 How we rate

0.100%Median · Spot taker
0.050%Median · Futures taker
2/200% spot maker
1.5 USDTMedian · USDT withdrawal fee

Key takeaways

  • The median spot taker fee across 20 exchanges is 0.100%; the range runs from 0.000% (Bitfinex) to 1.200% (Gemini).
  • Among 17 exchanges with a confirmed futures fee, the median futures taker fee is 0.050%, from 0.000% (Bitfinex) to 0.070% (Gemini).
  • 2 of 20 exchanges charge 0% on spot maker orders at the base tier.
  • At the median, a $1,000 spot taker order costs $1.00; at the lowest rate it costs $0.00.
  • The median withdrawal fee is 1.5 USDT for USDT and 0.000035 BTC for BTC on the default network.

01Spot trading: most exchanges sit at 0.100%

9 of 20 exchanges charge exactly 0.100% on spot taker orders at the base tier; 3 charge less and 8 charge more.

The cheapest spot taker rate is 0.000% (Bitfinex) and the most expensive 1.200% (Gemini). On the maker side, 2 of 20 exchanges charge 0%.

Exhibit 1 Spot maker and taker fees, base tier

Spot maker

20 of 20 confirmed
Lowest0.000%Bitfinex, MEXC
Median0.100%
Highest0.600%Gemini

Spot taker

20 of 20 confirmed
Lowest0.000%Bitfinex
Median0.100%
Highest1.200%Gemini

Source: CEX Compare, from official exchange sources (checked 2026-10-28)

02Futures: a narrower band around 0.050%

17 exchanges publish a confirmed futures taker fee. The median is 0.050%; the range runs from 0.000% (Bitfinex) to 0.070% (Gemini).

Futures maker fees are lower still, with a median of 0.020%; 2 exchanges charge 0%.

Exhibit 2 Futures maker and taker fees, base tier

Futures maker

17 of 20 confirmed
Lowest0.000%Bitfinex, MEXC
Median0.020%
Highest0.030%BTCC

Futures taker

17 of 20 confirmed
Lowest0.000%Bitfinex
Median0.050%
Highest0.070%Gemini

Source: CEX Compare, from official exchange sources (checked 2026-10-28)

03Withdrawals: the cost fee tables leave out

Moving USDT off an exchange costs a median of 1.5 USDT on the default network, from 0 USDT (Bitfinex) to 3 USDT (MAX Exchange). For BTC the median is 0.000035 BTC.

Most exchanges adjust withdrawal fees with network conditions, and cheaper networks are often available. The figures here are the default network at the time of our check.

Exhibit 3 USDT and BTC withdrawal fees, default network

USDT withdrawal fee

18 of 20 confirmed
Lowest0 USDTBitfinex
Median1.5 USDT
Highest3 USDTMAX Exchange

BTC withdrawal fee

18 of 20 confirmed
Lowest0.00001 BTCDeribit
Median0.000035 BTC
Highest0.0004 BTCCrypto.com

Source: CEX Compare, from official exchange sources (checked 2026-10-28)

04What the gaps are worth in dollars

Fee rates look small until they are multiplied by volume. Applied to $100,000 of monthly spot taker volume, the lowest rate costs $0.00, the median $100.00 and the highest $1200.00.

Exhibit 4 Monthly spot taker cost at the lowest, median and highest rate
Monthly volume Lowest · 0.000% Median · 0.100% Highest · 1.200%
$10,000 $0.00 $10.00 $120.00
$100,000 $0.00 $100.00 $1200.00
$1,000,000 $0.00 $1000.00 $12000.00

Source: CEX Compare, from official exchange sources (checked 2026-10-28)

05All 20 exchanges

Green = at or below the median for that item. Unconfirmed values are left out of every statistic.

Exhibit 5 Base-tier fees by exchange
Exchanges Spot makerSpot takerFutures makerFutures takerBTC withdrawal feeUSDT withdrawal fee
Bitfinex 0.000%0.000%0.000%0.000%0.00006 BTC0 USDT
Deribit 0.020%0.050%0.015%0.035%0.00001 BTC2 USDT
MEXC 0.000%0.050%0.000%0.020%0.00002 BTC0.5 USDT
Binance 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.050%0.00002 BTC1.5 USDT
BingX 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.050%0.00004 BTC1.5 USDT
Bitget 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.060%0.00002 BTC1.5 USDT
Bybit 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.055%0.000057 BTC1.3 USDT
Gate.io 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.050%0.00003 BTC1.5 USDT
KuCoin 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.060%0.00009 BTC1.99 USDT
OKX 0.080%0.100%0.020%0.050%0.000015 BTC1.5 USDT
Phemex 0.100%0.100%0.010%0.060%0.000015 BTC1 USDT
WhiteBIT 0.100%0.100%0.010%0.055%0.00009 BTC1 USDT
MAX Exchange 0.080%0.160%Not offeredNot offered0.00002 BTC3 USDT
BitoPro 0.100%0.200%Not offeredNot offered0.00004 BTC2.5 USDT
HTX 0.200%0.200%0.020%0.060%0.00005 BTC0.5 USDT
BTCC 0.200%0.300%0.030%0.055%0.0001 BTC1.5 USDT
Bitstamp 0.300%0.400%Not offeredNot offeredNot disclosedNot disclosed
Crypto.com 0.250%0.500%0.020%0.040%0.0004 BTC0.011 USDT
Kraken 0.400%0.800%0.020%0.050%0.000015 BTC1 USDT
Gemini 0.600%1.200%0.020%0.070%Not disclosedNot disclosed
Median 0.100%0.100%0.020%0.050%0.000035 BTC1.5 USDT

Source: CEX Compare, from official exchange sources (checked 2026-10-28)

06Method and limits

Base-tier fees: no VIP level and no platform-token discount. Medians use confirmed values only — undisclosed or unconfirmed values are excluded, never counted as zero.

Each dot is one exchange (hover or tap for name and value). The vertical line marks the median.

Crypto exchange fee changes — weekly log →

Sign-up links

Only exchanges with a verified affiliate program appear here, ordered by spot taker fee. The index above is unaffected.

About this report

This report is built only from the verified figures on this site. Every number links to an official source, and the data is reviewed by Jason Lee. It is information, not investment advice. About us →

Reviewer's Insight

More from Reviewer’s Insight

Research library →
  1. 2026-10-28 Weekly monitorFees Fee monitor, 2026-10-26 – 2026-10-28: no fee changes across 21 exchanges Week-by-week log of every trading and withdrawal fee change across 20 exchanges, re-checked daily against official sources.
  2. 2026-10-28 Data reportTrust Is Binance safe? What the official record shows — and what it does not Licenses, proof of reserves, protection fund and what we could not confirm — Binance against 20 exchanges.
  3. 2026-10-28 Data reportTrust Is Bitget safe? What the official record shows — and what it does not Licenses, proof of reserves, protection fund and what we could not confirm — Bitget against 20 exchanges.
  4. 2026-10-28 Data reportTrust Is Bybit safe? What the official record shows — and what it does not Licenses, proof of reserves, protection fund and what we could not confirm — Bybit against 20 exchanges.
Disclosure This site contains affiliate links and may earn a commission. Link status does not affect rankings; our full rating method is published on the methodology page. Trading crypto carries risk of loss. This site does not provide investment advice.